The Monster Under the Bed (childrens short story)

2016-06-04 08.57.45

It was a squeal that woke everyone in the burrow.  Jessica and Roger hadn’t long gone to bed; Colin was just starting to sort himself out ready to go to bed as well.  He ran into the bunnies bedroom.

“What is it?” Colin asked. “You sounded like you’d seen a ghost!”

“There’s a monster in the cupboard!” cried Jessica.

2016-06-04 08.53.56

“Now, come on” said Colin, with a small smile “there’s no such thing as a monster in the cupboard.”

“There is – I saw it!” insisted Jessica “He had horns and piercing eyes!”

“Would it help if I checked?” asked Colin. “I’ll get my torch”.

Colin went back to his room and returned to the bedroom.  Both Roger and Jessica were sat on the top of the bed, hugging each other.

“We both saw it!!” they exclaimed. “He came back out then disappeared back in the cupboard!”

Colin switched on his torch and walked over to the cupboard. Taking a deep breath, he said

“Monster, I’m opening this door – you’d better not be there!”

He swung open the door and looked inside.  Apart from their jackets and shoes, the cupboard was empty.  He turned to face Jessica and Roger.

2016-06-04 08.54.51

“There’s nothing in here that isn’t supposed to be there.” he said.  “Time to settle and go to sleep.”

Colin hadn’t gone long before there was another scream. He sighed and returned to the bedroom.

“What is it now?” he asked.

Roger spoke – with a fear in his wobbly voice. “It’s back” he said.

“What’s back?”

“The monster! It’s under the bed!”

2016-06-04 08.55.34

Colin stood with Jessica and Roger.  He looked under the bed.  “There’s nothing there!”

Roger pointed upwards.

“That’s because he’s not under the bed any more” said Roger. “Look – he’s on the bed!”

They all looked up.

2016-06-04 08.55.55

“Crikey!” said Colin. “There’s a monster on the bed!”

“Aaarrggghhh!!” squealed the Monster, “There’s monsters in front of me!”

Colin blinked.

“I’m sorry?” he asked the monster. “You’re the monster under the bed and in the cupboard!”

“and you’re the monsters that make me hide under the bed and in the cupboard!” the monster replied.

“But we’re not monsters” said Colin. “We’re rabbits!  I’m Colin and this is Jessica and Roger!”

The monster climbed off the bed and came over to them.

2016-06-04 08.56.53

“I’m Rory” said the Monster. “I’m a … err… I don’t know what I am.”

“Why’s that?” asked Jessica.

“Because I’ve not met another one of me” he replied.  “I’ve been here for ages – no idea how I got here.”

“Well, you’re here now” said Roger thoughtfully. “And now we’ve met, you don’t seem so scary to me.  Perhaps Colin could read us all a story and we can get to sleep?”

“Well, all little monsters should be in bed now then” smiled Colin. “If you all start going back to bed, I’ll put my torch back in my room and get a book to read to you.”

“Thank you” said Rory as he, Jessica and Roger climbed into bed. “But nothing scary please; they keep me awake.”

“I’ll see what I can find.” said Colin.

Roger turned to Rory.  “I think we’ll have some fun adventures” he said.

“I do hope so” yawned Rory “It’s nice to not feel scared at night any more.”

“Yes” said Jessica “I think we’ll all sleep a little better now.”

She yawned – and then so did Roger and Rory.  By the time Colin returned with his story book all three were asleep. Colin smiled and turned the light out.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

