Posted in Uncategorized

Lego Disney Collectible Minifigures (all)

The latest of the collectible are 18 “of your favourite Disney figures”.  Putting aside that there isn’t any sign of Jack Skellington, I did decide to get a few – but (as is becoming the norm for me now) not collect all 18… having been collecting these figures since the first series I think that the LEGO marketing team are either running out of ideas, or deliberately holding some figures back to enable another series later.  Consequently, what we actually have are a number of partial collections.  The other frustration is that we have seen some of these figures before – and frustratingly better the first time!

For example, take Buzz Lightyear:

2016-05-07 17.55.06

The new figure is on the left.  What’s with the head??? The heltmet also seems to be a lot thicker than it needs to be.  I note some additional printing on the legs and arms… but they could have reused the head – after all, they did for the aliens…

2016-05-07 17.54.44

… but again, the printing of the original is much better, considering that when we met these guys in Toy Story they were in a giant pit waiting for the “The Claw” to pick one of them.

I was also a little disappointed with Mr Incredible, who to me looks more like Dash:

2016-05-07 17.55.25

The face looks a little too young… and I think they could have added some “belly shading” too.

But let’s discuss what WAS good.  Firstly, and as someone who is fascinated by the story (and really enjoyed the exhibition at the British Library earlier this year) we have Alice and the Cheshire Cat:

2016-05-07 17.57.17

Complete with Drink Me bottle!!  We also have Captain Hook and Peter Pan:

2016-05-07 17.55.47

I also got hold of Lilo and Malificient too – but I need to see their tales to be able to establish whether I should like them or not!  But they are close to the pictures that I have seen, so these are good copies.

But Disney would not be Disney without Mickey, Minnie, Donald and Daisy.  I already had a “fake” set of these that I bought through Ebay, long before there was a public announcement about the Lego sets… these are good builds and I’m sure will appear in my timeline at some point.

As for the remaining figures in the set… I’ll let you Google them, but having just come from the most magical place on earth, I don’t remember seeing them about much, which I think tells you everything you need to know about being “everybody’s favourite”.

 

 

Leave a Reply

