Advent Rush – Day 23 (all)(695 words)

Santa stood by the communicator.

2015-12-22 18.18.23

“Yes, I’m very sorry Major, I know how much you were looking forward to those presents.”

“Blithering rocket just missed us!  No need to worry about whether Santa was real or not, I can see America wondering if this was a terrorist attack!”

“I said I was sorry.  After last year’s problems getting the presents to you, we agreed that you would send us a rocket to use.  Nobody told us that it would come in multiple parts!”

“Well how did you think we would control it?  The power of the mind?!?”

Nurgle walked into the room and heard the conversation.

“Hey guys” said Nurgle, “I think you’re being a little unfair.  I know that Santa has apologised – and if he didn’t say, well, he wasn’t in charge of the launch; I was.  If you keep this up, I’ll personally make sure that you are put onto the Naughty List… there’s still a couple of days to go you know.”

2015-12-22 18.18.52

“Are you threatening us?  Because if you are I’ll….”

“… go onto the Naughty list?” Nurgle replied.  “Your second part of the rocket has arrived.  Santa, you are needed in the Toy Room.”

“But my Snowpad hasn’t beeped.”

“No, You are. needed. In. The. ‘Toy Room'” said Nurgle.

“Ohh… sorry gentlemen, I’m needed in the Toy Room.  We’ll be in touch shortly. Sorry again.”

Santa ended the conversation.

“What’s happening in the Toy Room?”

“Nothing.”

“So why did you say I was needed.”

“Because we have a small issue.  They’ve send us a Space Shuttle. It’s Huge.  But our elves are only used to making toys, so the Rockets are tiny.  They pack the same power as proper rockets, but a fraction of the size.”

“So what’s the problem?”

“We can strap the rockets to the Shuttle – it’ll look like Mrs Claus’ attempt at a Catherine Wheel again.”

“Any suggestions?”

“Actually yes.  Carl has loaded the Shuttle with the presents.  I will use the shrink ray to reduce the size of the shuttle.  We can then launch the rocket, then when it gets out of orbit we calculate the shrink will wear off – but the shuttle can continue to the space station at full size!”

“Brilliant” said Santa. “Just one thing though – who will steer the shuttle?  After all, you heard what they thought of the last time we pointed a rocket at them!”

There was a small knock at the door.  It was Balfar the Elf.

“Reporting for duty” he said.

“What duty?” asked Santa.

“Flying the Shuttle” replied Balfar. “You forget, I trained as an astronaut and a pilot.  I can fly the shuttle.”

“But we need to shrink it – we don’t know what it will do to you.”

“Actually we do, which is why I found it so easy to volunteer.  You see, the minions and I were playing in the … err … well anyway, I accidently got shot by the shrink ray.”

“What happened?”

“Well let’s say that the Toy village had its own Elf on a Shelf for a day.  Anyway, we need to get going, otherwise we’ll miss the window of opportunity.”

“Thank you Balfar” said Santa.

“Ah, just save me a mince pie for when I get back.”

Balfar climbed aboard the shuttle, Nurgle fired the gun.  They loaded the shuttle onto the rockets and launched.

2015-12-22 18.17.14

“Good luck Balfar” said Santa.

 

Today’s advent presents:

Lego give us the shuttle to go with the rockets from yesterday.  I think this is a reasonable surprise – I hadn’t seen any mention on the box of a shuttle, so this was a really nice variation.  Of course, the shuttle program was retired in 2011, so this is on a par with Lego releasing a model of Concorde.  Trivial fact, each launch cost between 450 million and 1.5 billion US dollars!

From the Minions we have… to be honest, I’m not sure what it is we have.  It could be a UFO, or it could be something on a table.  The top looked a bit like EVA from WALL-E – so I decided that it must be a communication table (still working my way through the latest Thunderbirds Are Go! series)

2015-12-22 18.16.08

Leave a Reply

